北洋六鎮

北洋六鎮的正式名稱為新建陸軍第一至六鎮(即現代意義的「師」),是清末拱衛京畿的軍隊,由袁世凱掌控。1901年,清政府在全國推行常備軍制,袁世凱在他所管轄的武衛右軍的基礎上,編練了北洋常備軍兩鎮;連同武衛右軍、武衛右軍先鋒隊、自強軍擴編建制,於1905年練成五個鎮;加上由袁世凱編練的京旗常備軍(後稱北洋第一鎮),合稱北洋六鎮,駐守北京、直隸、山東及天津。

Six Divisions of the Beiyang Army

The Six Divisions of the Beiyang Army were formally known as Division One to Six of the New Army. Under the command of Yuan Shikai, they were responsible for the security of the capital during the late Qing period. In 1901, the Qing court implemented the army system across the empire. Yuan established two divisions of the Beiyang Army on the basis of the Right Wing of the Guards Army (Wuweijun) under his command. These two divisions, along with the expanded Right Wing of the Guards Army, vanguard of the Right Wing of the Guards Army and Self-Strengthening Army, were developed into five divisions in 1905. The Jingqi Army (later known as the First Division of the Beiyang Army) trained by Yuan Shikai was added to make up the Six Divisions of the Beiyang Army, stationed in Beijing, Zhili, Shandong and Tianjin.



北洋軍隊的操練情況
Training of the Beiyang Army