日本在華組界

甲午戰爭後,日本在重慶、蘇州、杭州、天津及漢口五地先後設置 租界。其中1898年簽訂的《漢口日本專管租界條款》,租界範圍訂 明為「……沿(漢)江長一百丈*……」,及至1907年訂立《日本展 拓漢口租界》時,租界範圍再次擴展「向(漢)江沿北得一百五十 丈」,並需永遠租予日本。

利強瓜分中國

*一丈=十尺(一中國尺=35.5 英吋)

Japanese concession areas in China

After the First Sino-Japanese War (1894-95), the Japanese established concession areas in five locations: Chongqing, Suzhou, Hangzhou, Tianjin and Hankou. In the *Provision for the Japanese-controlled Concession Area in Hankou* signed in 1898, the concession area was demarcated as "100 *zhang** along the (Han) River". When the *Expansion of the Japanese Concession Area in Hankou* was signed in 1907, the area became "150 *zhang* north along the (Han) River", which was leased to Japan perpetually.

The Great Powers Divide Up China

*One *zhang* = Ten feet (one Chinese foot = 35.5 inches)