Skip To Content
stop
play

"Collection Highlights : A Century of Kom Tong Hall" Exhibition

 

From 1/8/2014 to 7/1/2015
UG/F,
Special Exhibition Gallery,
Dr Sun Yat-sen Museum


Built in 1914, the Dr Sun Yat-sen Museum is housed in the Kom Tong Hall, originally the residence of the local businessman Ho Kom-tong. The Hall, named after the owner, used to be the home for three generations of the Ho's family. Since the 1960s, the building was owned and managed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. In 2004, the Hong Kong SAR government bought the premises and converted it into the Dr Sun Yat-sen Museum. The museum was open to the public in 2006; it was listed as a declared monument in 2010.


To mark the 100th anniversary of Kom Tong Hall, Dr Sun Yat-sen Museum showcases a selection of museum collection on Kom Tong Hall to revisit the history of the premises and to explore its architectural features from which visitors could get a glimpse of the exquisite blend of East and West.  


Chinese ceremonial gown owned by Ms Elizabeth HO, the eldest daughter of Ho Kom Tong.
Chinese ceremonial gown owned by Ms Elizabeth HO, the eldest daughter of Ho Kom-tong.
 
A medal conferred to Ho Kom Tong by St. John Ambulance Brigade
A medal conferred to Ho Kom-tong by St. John Ambulance Brigade
 
Silver ice-cube container with tong and tray formerly used at Kom Tong Hall
Silver ice-cube container with tong and tray formerly used at Kom Tong Hall
 
Porcelain flowerpot formerly placed on the balcony of the Kom Tong Hall

Porcelain flowerpot formerly placed on the balcony of the Kom Tong Hall